Waterloo International Master’s Award of Excellence

share this:

The University of Waterloo is offering the International Master’s Award of Excellence (IMAE) to international students who wish to undertake Master’s degree programs that are research-based, at the University of Waterloo. Faculties will nominate eligible students based on the Faculty’s award allocation. Students will be selected based on academic excellence as demonstrated through their application for admission to the graduate program.

Brief Description of the Waterloo International Master’s Award of Excellence

Host Organization: University of Waterloo

Course Level: Research-based Master’s degree in any subject

Scholarship Location: Canada

Eligible Countries: International students from all over the world

Number of Scholarships: Not specified

Worth of Award: Check Below

Application Deadline: Varies, Jan-Feb 2022 (Annual)

Worth of Awards/inclusions

The worth of the award is valued at $2,500 per term for a maximum of 5 terms.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must be International students with a valid Canadian study permit who are registered full-time and assessed international tuition fees. The scholarship will normally be awarded to Master’s degree students in research-based programs (thesis or major research paper). Only students entering the first term of their program are eligible. Applicants must demonstrate academic excellence through criteria established by the Faculty and must meet the academic progress requirements of their program and not have outstanding probationary admission requirements.

  • This award could be in addition to other internal or external scholarships (e.g., UW Graduate Scholarship, OGS, etc.). Note: scholarships are different than sponsorships – see next bullet.
  • Normally, students should not be concurrently receiving foreign government or agency sponsorship (e.g., China Scholarship Council, Libyan sponsorship, etc.) or be fully or partially self-funded in excess of the Faculty minimum levels of support.  
  • Students grandparented under the existing IMSA program cannot be nominated for an IMAE; however, a student previously awarded an IMSA for a previously completed master’s degree can be nominated for an IMAE.
  • Faculties may impose stricter eligibility criteria as appropriate.

Method of Application

Applications are currently closed.

Students will be automatically considered for this award based on their application for admission; hence no separate scholarship application is required. Departments and/or Faculties will select the students and nominate them for the scholarship. The application deadline for most master programs commencing September 2022 falls within January to February 2022. See the official website (link found below) for the application deadlines specific to each Master’s degree program.

It is important to visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

Join our social groups to get quick updates